School Board Appreciation Week

Board Members


Peach County School District is joining in a statewide celebration to salute the efforts of local school board members during the week of March 12-16, 2018, which has been proclaimed School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. The weeklong observance calls attention to the contributions of local boards of education.

“Citizens elect board members to represent the community’s voice on education matters and to set the vision for the school district.  Our board spends countless hours fulfilling its responsibilities and working together to continually improve our education system,” said Superintendent Daryl Fineran.

Peach County Board of Education members and their years of service are: Mr. B. J. Walker, Chair (3 years); Mr. Ben Hoots, Vice Chair (3 years); Mrs. Birdele Jackson (1 year); Mr. Jamie Johnson (11 years) and Mr. Ben McDaniel (9 years).

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate, and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students.

Please take a moment to thank Peach County Board of Education members for their commitment to making sure Peach County schools are operating efficiently and effectively.

Back to School News     Print News Article
Digital School Network logo SchoolPointe logo black